In #Georgia, a bicycle is legally considered a vehicle in the eye of the law. This means that the driver of a bicycle has the same rights and responsibilities of others on the road. Another important thing to note is that these laws apply to electric bikes, such as Uber JUMP, as well.
Georgia Bicycle Laws:
No bicycle can be used to carry more persons at one time than the number that it is designed and equipped for.
No cyclist can attach themself to any vehicle on a roadway.
If you are 16 years old or older, you are not required to wear a helmet when you ride a bike. Helmets are required for people under the age of 16. Although helmets are not required in Georgia, it is one of the main things that will keep you safe in the event of an injury. It is highly advised to wear a helmet that meets or exceeds the impact standards set by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). Visit here for tips on how to pick and fit a bicycle helmet.
It is considered illegal to ride a bicycle on the sidewalk for anyone who is over the age of 12.
Bicyclists must stay as far to the right as possible, except when they are:
- turning left, avoiding hazards
- traveling at the same speed as traffic
- passing a standing vehicle
- avoiding a right turn only lane when they are not turning right
- when the lane is too narrow
When used at night, every bicycle must be equipped with a light on the front that emits a white light visible from 300 feet to the front and with a light on the back that emits a red light visible from a distance of 300 feet to the rear.
Cyclists must signal when they are turning.
Bike riders must always ride in the same direction of traffic.
For general bicycle safety tips, click here.